Fall, Falling, Fallen

I guess with fall comes the end of a season.  For me, this fall is the end of several seasons.  And the beginning of a new one.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe long, wet, hot, humid, heavy summer will, eventually (I hope) give way to crisp, light, breathable air, beautiful colors and a transformation of all that is green and weighty into something colorful and pretty.  Life is like that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My fall has been long-suffering.  It has grown and flourished and then withered and died on the vine.  Right before my very eyes.  Gone.  While it is not what I anticipated or wanted.  It is what it is.  It is dark and overgrown and tired.  Weary actually.  I look forward to the days of fall.  Perhaps my falling will be over by then.  Once you hit the ground, you can stand on your own two feet again and set out on a new path.  Two roads diverged in a wood.  I’m taking a new one.

It’s hard to see where it might go.  It’s scary to go there.  It’s exciting too!  Fall is my favorite season.  It has my favorite things and holidays all mixed together.  I love the smells of fall- the leaves, the cinnamon, the candy.  I love the crisp feel to the air.  I love football and stadium blankets.  I love hot chocolate and marshmallows.  Maybe in the fall, I will find me again.  I thought I knew who I was.  I thought I had me all figured out.  It’s spooky to wake up, look at yourself in the mirror and wonder where you went.  Maybe I will spend my winter in a cocoon.  It seems a good safe idea at the moment.   Then who knows?

After the fall comes spring.

summer 3

Leave a Reply

