School Supply Addicts Anonymous

I am Just Me, and I am a school supply addict.  There!  It’s out in the open!   

I just love this time of year!!!!  It’s like New Years, only warmer and without the football.  Well, sort of without football.  It’s the beginning of the season.   At any rate, it’s a new start.  It looks like this:

You’re wandering the aisles at your local Target, when suddenly, it hits you. That smell!  That heavenly, wonderful aroma of fresh crayons and paper and pencils and plastic!  It’s mesmerizing.  You abandon everything on your “To-Do”  list, ignore your hungry, thirsty children, your ringing cell phone and follow your nose until you find it-The School Supply Aisle! 

I love school supplies!  I love office supplies!  I get so excited!!  It’s like all these new opportunities right at your finger tips!

Notebooks are my weakness.  I’m sure it has everything to do with the fact that I like love to write.  I mean, really, when I was in school, notebooks came in a few primary colors and composition books came in that odd black and white pattern.  You know the one I mean.  Blah.  Now, there are all these choices and patterns and colors and wow!!!!!  It’s SO exciting!!! The kids choose the ones they need for school and I always buy several new ones for me.  My kids don’t understand what in the world I’m going to DO with them, and, truth be told, I don’t know either.  I just know I need them. They’re so cute!   They call out to me and I MUST buy.  And, hey!  At fifty cents, or less, I can afford them!  Eventually, I find a use for them.  I have one for “Things I Want to Try”, one for “Topics I want to Write About”, one for “Recipes I want to Try”, one for “Favorite Quotes”, etc.  I just love paper and pencils. 

Paper.  Ahhh, blank sheets of wide ruled notebook paper.  What could possibly be any better than that? Whole, big packs of lined paper just waiting to be filled with new knowledge, new ideas, thoughts, notes to friends, etc. 

 Then, there are the folders and binders and three-ring notebooks with dividersLove, love, love these too!  They are all about organization and I am all about that!  Oh!  And don’t forget planners! Everyone needs a new planner at this time of year!  I KNOW I have one on my phone, and believe me, I use it.  However, I am nothing if not a visual learner, so see, I need one of the paper and pencil variety as well.  My all time favorite is the one produced by Mary Engelbreit, but that’s a post for another day.  (LOVE her too).  I love to see everything all organized and reduced to little inch by inch squares.  It seems so doable that way.  Not at all overwhelming like my life actually is most of the time. 

 I’m also a sucker for erasers.  I know, right?  It’s just that with erasers, there’s room to change your mind and make mistakes and revise your ideas.  Ink is so, . . . permanent.  There is a place for ink, but not in my journals/notebooks.  I need “wiggle” room there.  I especially love the pencil top erasers.  They are quite functional.  While I really like the big pink ones, I can’t seem to keep up with them, so pencil tops work best for me. 

 Brand new markers and so much fun!  It’s like buying a pack of opportunity or potential.  It’s like inertia. All that energy in one place!  Just waiting.   And, they now come in every hue known to man.  When I was in school, there was the 8 pack of primary color Crayola markers and that’s all.  Now there are choices and creativity abounds!  Love it!  Plus, they make that really cool “clacking” sound when they bump into each other in your brand new pencil box.  

 And then, (drum roll please)  . . . there are the CRAYONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I LOVE crayons.  I love the smell.  I love the look.  I love the feel.  To this day, I love to color.  I know, I know.  I will cry when my daughter is no longer interested in coloring.  Right now I have her as my “excuse” to color.  Fortunately, she also shares my passion for organizing and likes to arrange her colors according to hue.  So, all the yellows are together, all the reds and blues, and, well, you get the picture.  I told you I have issues. 

It’s a great Mom/Daughter activity. No?  Works for me.

 Yep, total addict.

(sigh)

 So, now you know.

Leave a Reply

