Just Me, From A to Z

Life seems to keep getting in the way of my blog, you know, the one I created to DECREASE my stress level by allowing me a place to just simply, be ME?   Hectic days, life changing events and general “stuff” keep clogging up my brain with a plethora of non-creative, anxiety-provoking  material. 

So, when a break in the cloud cover came, and I found myself alone, at last, with my thoughts, I found myself quite stuck. 

So, what to do? 

Well, read another blogger’s posts hoping for inspiration, of course!   So, in reading Cat Fur To Make Kitten Britches, a wonderful blog that belongs to a friend of mine, I found this, and, borrowed, copied, drew inspiration from, ummm, okay, stole the idea.  But, hey, if you check it out, you’ll find she did the same.  And, if you continue to trace it back, you’ll find that author did the same as well.  So, actually, I have found justification and tacit approval for my actions.  Oh, and I found another neat blog to read!  So, bonus!

 A. Age: Old enough to not know when my half-birthday is!  After a certain point, you don’t want to be so many years “and a half”.  Somehow 41 1/2 isn’t nearly as exciting as 6 1/2.

B. Bed size: Queen.

C. Chore you dislike: Laundry-in any amount.  I hate it. So, I don’t do it.  When we got married, he took that as his household chore and I have not washed but just a few loads  in the past 15 + years, and those were when my kids were babies.

D. Dogs: I like big dogs, and I own one.  However, I’m more of a cat person, so,  I have one of those too.

E. Essential start to your day:  I am not one to lounge around in pajamas, so once I’m up, I MUST get dressed.  Then: coffee, followed by more coffee.  Repeat until approximately six cups have been consumed.

F. Favorite color: Orange, in most any shade.  

G. Gold or silver: Silver, I just like it better.  Gold is somehow for old people.   

H. Height: I am just over five feet, three inches tall or short depending on how you see it.  At the moment,  I am still taller than my children,  but that won’t last long.  I am the shortest in my family, extended or immediate.

I. Instruments you play(ed): Piano and violin. I love both, but have precious little time to enjoy either of them.  I live vicariously through my daughter who also plays piano.  If I don’t do something soon, she will surpass my abilities

J. Job title: Which one?  I currently work two jobs on a full-time/part-time basis.  I have no benefits, and work full-time hours for part-time pay.  However, I love both jobs.

K. Kids: Two.  I always wanted one boy and one girl.  Thanks to modern medical science, I have two, since my body was not apparently made to have any.

L. Live:  One day at a time, but sometimes, several days sneak up and attack me at once.

M. Mom’s name: I would love to tell you, because I have a great mom.  However, she has a unique name, and, in the spirit of keeping my blog anonymous, I will keep it to myself.

N. Nicknames:  I don’t have any, except, Yankee, a newly acquired name since moving here.

O. Overnight hospital stay:  Um, well, given that I have had two children and am a cancer survivor, let’s just say, there have been several.

P. Pet peeves:  Wow!  Now here is a topic for a post!  Okay, topping the list:  1.  People who feel entitled to special treatment.

2.  Waiting in line- any line. 

3.  Rain on my days off. 

4.  Dirty kitchen counters (Clorox wipes are my close friends). 

5.  Lint on the carpet.  This particular issue has led to a pretty serious vacuum addiction and the evolution of vast pride in my Oreck, which WAS a Mother’s Day gift.  I am probably the only woman in the world who was simply ecstatic to receive a vacuum for this most special day!

Q. Quote from a movie:  “That’s the problem. I AM the man I want to marry!”, along with numerous other quotes from,  The Women.

R. Righty or Lefty: Righty

S. Siblings:  Just one.   She is five and a half years younger, so we never had much in common.  That, however, was the impetus for my children being only 2 1/2 years apart.

T. Time you wake up:  At early o’clock.  I am not now, nor have I ever been, nor will I ever BE a morning person.  I am, however, married to one and I somehow managed to give birth to one, thereby making mornings interesting at my house.  At least one of the kids shares my distaste of dawn.

U. Underwear: I wear it and change it every day, “because if you ever get in an accident, you need to make sure you have on clean underwear”.  Not sure it would stay clean in the event of an accident, but that’s what Mom always said.  What more could you want/need to know?

V. Vegetables you don’t like: Turnips, and even those can be tolerable.  I really like them all.

W. What makes you run late: Well, the snooze button and I have this affair going, and,  . . . well, . . . 

X. X-rays you’ve had:  Way too many to count!

Y. Yummy food you make:  Well, my family is Italian and French and Irish, so there are MANY good things (in my opinion).  Wow!  It’s hard to narrow the field.  There is, of course, Lasagna, Fettucine Alfredo, Polenta, Beouf Bourgingnon, Corned Beef (not really Irish, but hey!) and scones!  There are desserts too numerous to count, but they include Italian Creme Cake, Tiramisu,  and a lemon tart that’s to die for!

Z. Zoo animal favorites:  Monkeys.  Always the monkeys.  Big cats are fun too. 

So, there you have Just Me, from A to Z.  See you soon!

2 thoughts on “Just Me, From A to Z

  1. You can definitely call me that! Yeah,the two and a half years between my kids was supposed to inspire commraderie as well. It doesn’t exactly happen that way most days.

  2. Fun read, Yankee! (In the spirit of anonymity, can I call you that?!)

    My sister and I are 4.5 years apart, and like you and yours, we never had much in common growing up either, so that explains why my own kids are only 2 years apart. I’d had high hopes they would get along better and be closer than my sister and I were when we were young…..but some days, I’m not sure my strategy worked!

Leave a Reply

